Voters' register inspection starts Monday

Prospective voters undergoing registration

The Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC) will conduct inspection of the voter’s register, which will run from December 10 to January 9 next year, in phases of five days each.

A statement from the commission signed by Chief Elections Officer Sam Alfandika appeals to candidates and political party leaders that during meetings; they should encourage their supporters to patronize the process.

It indicates that centres will open from 8 am to 4 pm, including lunch hour and weekends.

The centres will also run for full hours during the Christmas and New Year holidays during the stated period.

In conjunction with the Malawi Electoral Support Network (MESN), MEC has put in place a facility which will enable registered voters to verify their details by sending an SMS with their voter number to 5VOTE (58683).

This free initiative, available to TNM and Airtel subscribers, will enable people to verify details such as names and centre where they registered.

In the event of errors in the registration information on or the system responds that the details aren’t available; voter are encouraged to visit the centre where they registered and will be assisted accordingly.

Registration centre
Some of the centres which people can visit to verify their details

During the verification period, voters who lost their certificates are advised to go to the centres where they registered to get duplicate certificates for easy voting on May 21.

The period will also allow processing of transfers for those who have moved away from the centre where they registered.

“These voters should go with their voter registration certificates to the centre where they wish to vote at and ask to be transferred there.

There is no need to go back to the centre where they registered as voters in order to process a transfer,” the statement reads.

The electoral body is urging election staff and monitors to scrutinize all persons coming for transfers to ensure that they meet the mentioned criteria before processing transfers.

People exercising their voting right in previous elections 

Together with the National Registration Bureau (NRB), the commission will, during the voter registration exercise, also distribute national ID’s to all Malawians who registered during the voter registration exercise.

Councils to be covered under phase one from December 10 to 14 are Kasungu. Kasungu Municipality, Nkhotakota, Ntchisi, Dowa, Salima Mchinji and Dedza.

Phase two which will be from December 18 to 22 will cover Lilongwe, Lilongwe City, Ntcheu, Blantyre City, Mwanza and Neno Nsanje and Chikwawa.

Phase three, which will run from December 26 to 30, will involve   Mangochi, Mangochi Town, Balaka, Machinga, Zomba City, Chiradzulu, Thyolo, Luchenza Municipality, Phalombe and Mulanje.

Chitipa, Karonga, Rumphi Nkhata Bay, Mzuzu City and Mzimba will be covered under Phase Four which will run  from January 5 to 9 2019.