48th Parliament session opens June 21


President Peter Mutharika will open the 48th session of Parliament on June 21 in Lilongwe, Clerk of Parliament Fiona Kalemba has said.

This will be the first meeting of the national assembly after the May 21 Tripartite elections.

“The Office of the Clerk of Parliament wishes to inform all newly-elected Members of Parliament and the public that His Excellency Professor Arthur Peter Mutharika will conduct a State Opening of the new Parliament of Malawi on Friday, 21st June, 2019 at 10:00 am in the Parliament Chamber in Lilongwe. Thereafter, the house will sit from Monday, 24th June to Friday, 12th July 2019. All Members-elect are, therefore, summoned to attend the Meeting at the time and place indicated until adjournment Sine Die and herein fail not,” reads the statement from the clerk.    

Meanwhile Members of Parliament are undergoing orientation in Lilongwe.

The new parliament only retained 64 Parliamentarians 

Before the deliberations, the members will appoint a new speaker of the house.

In the May 19 Tripartite elections, the Democratic Progressive Party won the most parliamentary seats, 62, the Malawi Congress Party (MCP) got 55 seats which is also the number of  independent candidates.

United Democratic Front secured 10 seats, People’s Party (PP) five, UTM four and Alliance for Democracy (AFORD) one seat.

The house is expected to have 192 MPs out of 193 as elections in one constituency were suspended following the death of a candidate.